General Facts About Bosnia and Herzegovina

Official name: Bosnia and Herzegovina (BiH)
Area:  51.209,2 km2 (51.197 km2 land; 12, 2 km2 sea)
Population: 3,5 million

Capital city: Sarajevo
Other major cities: Banja Luka, Bihac, Mostar, Tuzla, Zenica
Religions: Muslim (50,7%), Orthodox Christian (30,74%), Roman Catholic (15,18 %), Others (3,35%)
Ethnic groups: Bosniaks, Serbs, Croats and others
Languages: Bosnian, Serbian, Croatian (all official)
Administrative organization: BiH comprises of two entities: the Federation of BiH and Republika Srpska. Formally part of both entities is the Brcko District, a multi-ethnic self-governing administrative unit.
Government structure: BiH is a parliamentary democracy with a bicameral parliament (House of Representatives and House of Peoples), a three-member rotating presidency, a Council of Ministers, and Constitutional Court.

Age structure:

0-14 years: 15,3%
15-64 years: 70,3%
65 years and over: 14,2%

Population growth rate: -0,0023% (2015 est.)

GDP:  14,6 bil EUR (2015)
GDP per capita: 3.821 EUR  (2015)
Currency: Convertible Mark (BAM – official; KM – common use)
Exchange rate: 1 EUR = KM 1,95 (fixed exchange rate)
Tax jurisdictions: There are two main tax jurisdictions in BiH: the Federation of BiH (FBiH), with 10 cantons, and the Republika Srpska (RS)
Latitude/longitude: 44 N, 18 E
Time zone: CET (GMT + 1 hour)
Internet domain:  .ba
Internacional telephone code:  +387

Please log in to rate this.

0 people found this helpful.

Category: GENERAL

← FAQs

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *